Mantor Library

Sociology

For additional assistance, please consult the research guide available for this subject.

Sociological Abstracts Description: Covers sociology and related disciplines including anthropology, criminology, demography, education, gerontology, mental health, minority studies, political science, public health, social psychology, social work, urban studies, welfare programs, and women's studies; international in scope
Coverage: 1974-present
Indexes: Journals, books, conference papers, and dissertations
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
Social Services Abstracts

Description: Provides access to literature on social service topics such as social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development
Coverage: 1980-present
Indexes: Journals and dissertations
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Research Starters--Sociology

Description: Study and research guides designed specifically for advanced high school students, college students and selected graduate students, consisting of comprehensive, yet concise topic summary articles of about 3,000 words in length written by researchers, scholars and other subject matter experts. (Trial resource: available through June 2010)
Coverage: N/A
Indexes: Study and research guides
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Women's Studies International (Full Text) Description: Covers the interdisciplinary field of women's studies including the fields of arts and humanities, business, economics, education, history, international relations, political science, public policy, and sociology
Coverage: 1972-present
Indexes: Journals, books, book chapters, and dissertations
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
ASSIA

Description: Covers health, social services, psychology, sociology, economics, politics, race relations and education
Coverage: 1987-present
Indexes: Journals
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use