Mantor Library

Marine Sciences

For additional assistance, please consult the research guide available for this subject.

Aquatic Sciences and Fisheries Abstracts

Description: Covers aquaculture, aquatic pollution, brackish water environments, conservation, environmental quality, fisheries, freshwater environments, limnology, marine biotechnology, marine environments, meteorology, oceanography, ocean technology, policy and legislation, and wildlife management
Coverage: 1970-present
Indexes: Journals, books, reports, conference proceedings, translations, and limited distribution literature
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Oceanic Abstracts

Description: Provides access to literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environments
Coverage: 1981-present
Indexes: Journal articles, conference papers, books, and reports
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Zoological Record

Description: Provides access to zoological literature including the subjects of animal behavior, genetics, parasitology, ecology, habitat, reproduction, zoogeography, evolution, nutrition, and taxonomy; international in scope
Coverage: 1978-present
Indexes: Journals, books, conference proceedings, and reports
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

BIOSIS Previews Description: Indexes the literature of the biological and biomedical sciences including agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, botany, ecology, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology
Coverage: 1969-present
Indexes: Journals, books, proceedings and meeting abstracts, technical reports, review papers, and patents
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
User Limit: 2
ScienceDirect (Full Text) Description: A browseable and searchable collection of scholarly journals published by Elsevier on science, technology, and medicine
Coverage: 1995-present
Indexes: Journals
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
National Sea Grant Library Database (Full Text)

Description: Database of publications resulting from Sea Grant funded research. Subjects covered include aquaculture, coastal zone management, marine education, and oceanography.
Coverage: 1965-present
Access: Free Web resource