Mantor Library

Literature

For additional assistance, please consult the research guide available for this subject.

MLA International Bibliography

Description: Provides access to scholarly research in literature, language, linguistics, and folklore
Coverage: 1963-present
Indexes: Journals, books, working papers, conference proceedings, and bibliographies
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Contemporary Literary Criticism Select (Full Text)

Description: Presents significant published criticism on the works of novelists, poets, playwrights, short story writers, and other creative writers
Coverage: 1998-present
Indexes: Critical and biographical essays on authors currently living or who died after January 1, 2000
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

JSTOR I & III (Full Text)

Description: Focused on the arts, social sciences and humanities, this resource contains journals in language and literature, as well as important titles in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture, economics, political science, mathematics, sociology, and many more.
Coverage: Varies by title, some as far back as the late 1800’s. Full text is available up to the last 3 - 5 years for most titles.
Indexes: Journals
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Oxford English Dictionary (Full Text)

Description: As the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium, the OED is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Indexes: Words
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Book Index with Reviews (Full Text)

Description: Provides information on millions of book titles in all genres and in a wide range of formats (large print, audio books, etc.) and contains full text searchable reviews from sources such as: Library Journal, School Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, CHOICE, and others
(A one-click URSUS search is available from each title listing.)
Coverage: 1800-present
Indexes: Books and book reviews
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

NoveList (Full Text)

Description: Provides enhanced subject access to works of fictions: find fiction titles based on a favorite author, title, or description; browse lists based on genre or awards (over 1000 pre-made lists); search by subject heading, reviews, and publishers
Indexes: Fiction books
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Wright American Fiction (Full Text)

Description: A collection of 19th century American fiction, as listed in Lyle Wright's bibliography American Fiction, 1851-1875
Access: Free Web resource