Mantor Library

History

For additional assistance, please consult the research guide available for this subject.

America: History and Life Description: Index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present
Coverage: 1964-present
Indexes: Journals, books, book reviews, and dissertations
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
User Limit: 1
Historical Abstracts Description: Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more
Coverage: 1969-present
Indexes: Journals, books, conference proceedings, and dissertations
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
User Limit: 1
JSTOR Arts & Sciences I, II & III (Full Text) Description: Database includes core journals in economics, history, political science, and sociology, Asian studies, ecology, mathematics, statistics, archaeology, classics, and African, Latin American, Middle Eastern, and Slavic studies. It also includes other key fields in the humanities and social sciences, including journals in language and literature, as well as important titles in the fields of music, film studies, folklore, performing arts, religion, and the history and study of art and architecture.
Coverage: Varies by title, some as far back as the late 1800’s. Full text is available up to the last 3 - 5 years for most titles.
Indexes: Journals
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
WorldCat Description: Searchable database of bibliographic records for items held at libraries throughout the world
Indexes: Books, periodicals, and media
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
User Limit: 7
Can’t get into WorldCat? Try WorldCat.org – a free version (with less sophisticated searching options) with no user limits.
Making of America Journals (Cornell) (Full Text) Description: Cornell University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
Coverage: Varies by publication
Indexes: Journals
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
Making of America Journals (Michigan) (Full Text) Description: Michigan University Library's contributions to Making of America (MOA), a digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction
Coverage: Varies by publication
Indexes: Journals
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
Avalon Project at Yale (Full Text) Description: Contains digital documents relevant to the fields of law, history, economics, politics, diplomacy and government
Coverage: Pre-18th century-present
Access: Free Web resource
Annals of American History (Full Text) Description: Primary source materials pertaining to the history and culture of the United States
Coverage: 1493-present
Indexes: Speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, poems, interviews, images, and audio and video files
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
Historical Statistics of the United States (Full Text) Description: This database (based on a 2006 publication) contains quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history: population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. One may graph and combine data from different tables into custom tables and download tables for use in spreadsheets and other applications.
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
American Slavery: A Composite Autobiography (Full Text) Description: Collection of interviews conducted under the Federal Writers' Project of the Work Progress Administration, as published in 1972 in The American Slave: A Composite Autobiography edited by George P. Rawick
Coverage: Interviews conducted 1936-1938
Indexes: Life histories of former American slaves and transcripts of interviews with actual slaves
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
Royal Historical Society Bibliography Description: Guide to what has been written about British and Irish history including relations with the empire and Commonwealth during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present
Indexes: Books, journals, and other publications
Access: Free Web resource