Mantor Library

Ecology

For additional assistance, please consult the research guide available for this subject.

Environment Complete (Full Text) Description: Covers a wide range of environmental topics including agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more
Coverage: 1975-present
Indexes: Journals and books
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
GreenFILE Description: Provides information on all aspects of human impact to the environment, including such subjects as global climate change, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, and recycling
Coverage: Current; varies by title
Indexes: Journals, magazines, books, trade publications, and pamphlets
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
Forest Science Description: Provides access to international and domestic forest, wood science, and agroforestry research
Coverage: 1939-present
Indexes: Journals, books, and conference proceedings
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
Nature (Full Text) Description: An international journal publishing research spanning all of the scientific disciplines
Coverage: 1997-present
Indexes: The journal, Nature
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
Wildlife & Ecology Studies Worldwide Description: Provides access to literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians; major topic areas include studies of individual species, habitat types, hunting, economics, wildlife behavior, management techniques, diseases, ecotourism, zoology, taxonomy and much more
Coverage: 1935-present
Indexes: Journals, books, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, and government reports
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
User Limit: 5
BIOSIS Previews Description: Indexes the literature of the biological and biomedical sciences including agriculture, biochemistry, bioengineering, botany, ecology, genetics, microbiology, pharmacology, and zoology
Coverage: 1969-present
Indexes: Journals, books, proceedings and meeting abstracts, technical reports, review papers, and patents
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
User Limit: 2
ScienceDirect
(Full Text)
Description: A browseable and searchable collection of scholarly journals published by Elsevier on science, technology, and medicine
Coverage: 1995-present
Indexes: Journals
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use
Energy Citations Database (Full Text) Description: Contains energy and energy-related scientific and technical reports and papers sponsored by the Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessor agencies.
Coverage: 1948-present
Indexes: Reports, conference papers, journal articles, books, dissertations, and patents
Access: Free Web resource
MEMAP Description: Lists long-term projects and programs that are systematically monitoring or assessing environmental factors in Maine, from breeding amphibians to ozone, weather and water quality
Access: Free Web resource