Mantor Library

Dictionaries & Encyclopedias

Oxford English Dictionary (Full Text)

Description: As the accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium, the OED is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. It traces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
Indexes: Words
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Merriam-Webster's 3rd New International Dictionary (Full Text)

Description: Comprehensive online dictionary
Indexes: Words
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Britannica Online (Full Text)

Description: Multi-disciplinary online encyclopedia
Coverage: Current
Indexes: Encyclopedia articles, multimedia, Web sites, journal and magazine articles, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, country data, quotations, and classic literature
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia (Full Text)

Description: Multi-disciplinary online encyclopedia
Coverage: Current
Indexes: Encyclopedia articles
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Enciclopedia Universal en Espanol Online (Full Text)

Description: This resource is a comprehensive online encyclopedia in Spanish geared towards native Spanish speakers, bilingual students and students learning Spanish. Enciclopedia Juvenil, linked from the page for the Enciclopedia Universal en Español, includes a Spanish elementary encyclopedia, images, Spanish-language videos, and Spanish learning materials specifically designed for younger students.
Coverage: Current
Indexes: Encyclopedia articles, photos and images, maps and tables
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

BioMedical Reference Collection: Basic (Full Text)

Description: A collection of journals which cover virtually every area of medical study including clinical medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences
Coverage: 1985-present
Indexes: Journals
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

AccessScience (Full Text)

Description: Online encyclopedia of science and technology
Coverage: Current and historical scientific information
Indexes: Encyclopedia articles, dictionary terms, biographies, research updates, and science news
Access: Subscription resource; last name and library barcode required for off-campus use

Dictionary of Newfoundland English Online (Full Text)

Description: Presents the lexicon of Newfoundland and coastal Labrador as it is displayed in sources which range from sixteenth-century printed books to tape recordings of contemporary Newfoundland speakers
Access: Free Web resource