Scholarly, Popular, and Trade
Periodicals
Periodicals, which include journals, magazines, and newspapers, are
published regularly (i.e. daily, weekly, monthly, annually, etc.) and are important
sources for up-to-date information. The most common kinds of periodicals are
scholarly, popular, and trade.
In general scholarly periodicals are viewed as being more authoritative
while popular periodicals are viewed as being less credible. This is why faculty
often require students to use scholarly, not popular, articles for their research.
The table below will help in deciding whether a periodical is scholarly, popular, or
trade.
|
Scholarly
Journals, print and online |
Popular
Magazines and newspapers,
print and online |
Trade
Journals, print and online |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Example |

|
 |
 |
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Author |
- Researcher, scholar, or authority in the field
- Credentials provided
- Often more than one
|
- Staff or freelance writer
- Credentials not usually provided
- Usually just one
|
- Authority in the field
- Credentials may be provided
- May be more than one
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Purpose |
- Report on scholarly research
- Share expertise
|
- Inform, entertain, cover special interests
|
- Cover industry news, product information, trends in the field, and law
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Audience |
- Professionals in the field and researchers
|
|
- Professionals in the field, researchers, and general public
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Language |
- Specialized terminology of the field
|
|
- Technical terminology of the industry
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Advertising |
- Not usually found
- If present, would be for scholarly books and resources, conferences, equipment, etc.
|
- Significant amount
- Would be for cars, food, clothing, hobby items, etc.
|
- Often found
- Would be for products used by people in that profession
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Appearance |
- Serious look
- Text-oriented, graphs and charts illustrate research
|
- Attractive look
- Glossy pages with many photographs and eye-catching graphics
|
- Professional look
- Combination of text, graphs, charts, and photographs
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Articles |
- Reviewed by a board of experts in the field (refereed) or by the author's peers (peer
reviewed)
- Lengthy, providing in-depth analysis
- Bibliography and/or footnotes, in standardized citation format, provided to document
research
|
- No formal review process, reviewed by editors on staff
- Brief, providing broad overviews
- Bibliography usually not provided, references may be mentioned in text
|
- Reviewed by editors (often professionals in the field)
- Length varies
- Bibliography and/or footnotes may be provided
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| Indexing |
- Articles included in subject specific indexes/databases such as ERIC, PsycINFO, and
BIOSIS
- Articles also located in general indexes/databases such as Academic Search Premier
- Access to these resources available through Mantor Library's
home page
|
- Articles included in general indexes/databases such as Academic Search Premier, Maine
Newsstand, and New York Times Index
- Access to these resources available through Mantor Library's
home page
|
- Articles included in general indexes/databases such as Academic Search Premier, Business
Source Premier, and Health Source
- Access to these resources available through Mantor Library's
home page
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
| More Examples |
Journal of Modern History
Gifted Child Quarterly
Shakespeare Quarterly
Modern Fiction Studies
Journal of Geography |
New
York Times
Glamour
Sports Illustrated
Down East
Parents Magazine |
PC
Magazine
Horn Book
Ski Area Management
HR Magazine
Advertising Age |
If you come across a periodical, either print or online, and are unsure if
it is scholarly, popular, or trade, please see a Mantor Library staff
member for assistance.
[Home]
Copyright © 2007
University of Maine at Farmington web-mantor@umf.maine
edu
Last Updated
03/29/2007 09:22 AM
Disclaimer
|